Log in to your account, go to your account settings and open the option section. Change anything... I have noticed the bug, if I changed the option "Enable full width layout" and change the theme to dark. If I hit enter, everthing changed like expected. But after closing the browser and automated cleaning of the browser cache, every setting changed back to default at the next login.
Expected behaviour
Every account setting should persist.
Actual behaviour
Every account setting is set to default after closing the browser and delete the cache.
Originally created by @fthoma-coding on GitHub (May 13, 2022).
Original GitHub issue: https://github.com/dani-garcia/vaultwarden/issues/2465
### Subject of the issue
Lost account settings after close browser and delete cache
### Deployment environment
### Your environment (Generated via diagnostics page)
* Vaultwarden version: v1.24.0
* Web-vault version: v2.25.1
* Running within Docker: true (Base: Debian)
* Environment settings overridden: false
* Uses a reverse proxy: true
* IP Header check: true (X-Real-IP)
* Internet access: true
* Internet access via a proxy: false
* DNS Check: true
* Time Check: true
* Domain Configuration Check: true
* HTTPS Check: true
* Database type: SQLite
* Database version: 3.35.4
* Clients used: 20
* Reverse proxy and version: Traefik v2.6.6
* Other relevant information:
### Config (Generated via diagnostics page)
<details><summary>Show Running Config</summary>
**Environment settings which are overridden:**
```json
{
"_duo_akey": null,
"_enable_duo": false,
"_enable_email_2fa": true,
"_enable_smtp": true,
"_enable_yubico": true,
"_ip_header_enabled": true,
"admin_ratelimit_max_burst": 3,
"admin_ratelimit_seconds": 300,
"admin_token": "***",
"allowed_iframe_ancestors": "",
"attachments_folder": "data/attachments",
"authenticator_disable_time_drift": false,
"data_folder": "data",
"database_max_conns": 10,
"database_url": "****/**.*******",
"db_connection_retries": 15,
"disable_2fa_remember": false,
"disable_admin_token": false,
"disable_icon_download": false,
"domain": "*****://*****.***********.***",
"domain_origin": "*****://*****.***********.***",
"domain_path": "",
"domain_set": true,
"duo_host": null,
"duo_ikey": null,
"duo_skey": null,
"email_attempts_limit": 3,
"email_expiration_time": 600,
"email_token_size": 6,
"emergency_access_allowed": true,
"emergency_notification_reminder_schedule": "0 5 * * * *",
"emergency_request_timeout_schedule": "0 5 * * * *",
"enable_db_wal": true,
"extended_logging": true,
"helo_name": null,
"hibp_api_key": null,
"icon_blacklist_non_global_ips": true,
"icon_blacklist_regex": null,
"icon_cache_folder": "data/icon_cache",
"icon_cache_negttl": 259200,
"icon_cache_ttl": 2592000,
"icon_download_timeout": 10,
"icon_redirect_code": 302,
"icon_service": "internal",
"incomplete_2fa_schedule": "30 * * * * *",
"incomplete_2fa_time_limit": 3,
"invitation_org_name": "BioVariance Vaultwarden",
"invitations_allowed": true,
"ip_header": "X-Real-IP",
"job_poll_interval_ms": 30000,
"log_file": null,
"log_level": "Info",
"log_timestamp_format": "%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S.%3f",
"login_ratelimit_max_burst": 10,
"login_ratelimit_seconds": 60,
"org_attachment_limit": null,
"org_creation_users": "*******.*****@***********.***,******.*******@***********.***",
"password_iterations": 100000,
"reload_templates": false,
"require_device_email": false,
"rsa_key_filename": "data/rsa_key",
"send_purge_schedule": "0 5 * * * *",
"sends_allowed": false,
"sends_folder": "data/sends",
"show_password_hint": false,
"signups_allowed": false,
"signups_domains_whitelist": "",
"signups_verify": true,
"signups_verify_resend_limit": 6,
"signups_verify_resend_time": 3600,
"smtp_accept_invalid_certs": false,
"smtp_accept_invalid_hostnames": false,
"smtp_auth_mechanism": "Plain",
"smtp_debug": false,
"smtp_explicit_tls": true,
"smtp_from": "********@***********.**",
"smtp_from_name": "BioVariance Vaultwarden",
"smtp_host": "****.******.**",
"smtp_password": "***",
"smtp_port": 465,
"smtp_ssl": true,
"smtp_timeout": 15,
"smtp_username": "********@***********.**",
"templates_folder": "data/templates",
"trash_auto_delete_days": null,
"trash_purge_schedule": "0 5 0 * * *",
"use_syslog": false,
"user_attachment_limit": null,
"web_vault_enabled": true,
"web_vault_folder": "web-vault/",
"websocket_address": "0.0.0.0",
"websocket_enabled": true,
"websocket_port": 3012,
"yubico_client_id": null,
"yubico_secret_key": null,
"yubico_server": null
}
```
</details>
### Steps to reproduce
Log in to your account, go to your account settings and open the option section. Change anything... I have noticed the bug, if I changed the option "Enable full width layout" and change the theme to dark. If I hit enter, everthing changed like expected. But after closing the browser and automated cleaning of the browser cache, every setting changed back to default at the next login.
### Expected behaviour
Every account setting should persist.
### Actual behaviour
Every account setting is set to default after closing the browser and delete the cache.
This is normal behaviour.
All user settings are stored locally in your browser cache there is no serverside storage for this configurations.
<!-- gh-comment-id:1125721318 -->
@Masgalor commented on GitHub (May 13, 2022):
This is normal behaviour.
All user settings are stored locally in your browser cache there is no serverside storage for this configurations.
These settings are stored within the browsers local storage. If you clear those they are obviously gone.
Those settings are not stored server side.
<!-- gh-comment-id:1125721518 -->
@BlackDex commented on GitHub (May 13, 2022):
These settings are stored within the browsers local storage. If you clear those they are obviously gone.
Those settings are not stored server side.
Blocking a user prevents them from interacting with repositories, such as opening or commenting on pull requests or issues. Learn more about blocking a user.
Originally created by @fthoma-coding on GitHub (May 13, 2022).
Original GitHub issue: https://github.com/dani-garcia/vaultwarden/issues/2465
Subject of the issue
Lost account settings after close browser and delete cache
Deployment environment
Your environment (Generated via diagnostics page)
Config (Generated via diagnostics page)
Show Running Config
Environment settings which are overridden:
Steps to reproduce
Log in to your account, go to your account settings and open the option section. Change anything... I have noticed the bug, if I changed the option "Enable full width layout" and change the theme to dark. If I hit enter, everthing changed like expected. But after closing the browser and automated cleaning of the browser cache, every setting changed back to default at the next login.
Expected behaviour
Every account setting should persist.
Actual behaviour
Every account setting is set to default after closing the browser and delete the cache.
@Masgalor commented on GitHub (May 13, 2022):
This is normal behaviour.
All user settings are stored locally in your browser cache there is no serverside storage for this configurations.
@BlackDex commented on GitHub (May 13, 2022):
These settings are stored within the browsers local storage. If you clear those they are obviously gone.
Those settings are not stored server side.