feat: Disallow sharing of knowledge and prompts for users #5850

Closed
opened 2025-11-11 16:35:56 -06:00 by GiteaMirror · 3 comments
Owner

Originally created by @kns-12 on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025).

Check Existing Issues

  • I have searched the existing issues and discussions.

Problem Description

When users belong to multiple groups, everyone can share their knowledge or prompts within their groups. While this seems useful, oversharing can quickly lead to clutter. Users in many groups struggle to find relevant content. Currently, the feature only prevents public sharing, but not excessive group sharing.

Desired Solution you'd like

A possible solution is to disable sharing for users entirely. Only admins could manage a global knowledge and prompt repository, ensuring content is curated, high-quality, and centrally maintained.

Alternatives Considered

No response

Additional Context

No response

Originally created by @kns-12 on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025). ### Check Existing Issues - [x] I have searched the existing issues and discussions. ### Problem Description When users belong to multiple groups, everyone can share their knowledge or prompts within their groups. While this seems useful, oversharing can quickly lead to clutter. Users in many groups struggle to find relevant content. Currently, the feature only prevents public sharing, but not excessive group sharing. ### Desired Solution you'd like A possible solution is to disable sharing for users entirely. Only admins could manage a global knowledge and prompt repository, ensuring content is curated, high-quality, and centrally maintained. ### Alternatives Considered _No response_ ### Additional Context _No response_
Author
Owner

@rgaricano commented on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025):

You can set this within user/group permissions.

@rgaricano commented on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025): You can set this within user/group permissions.
Author
Owner

@kns-12 commented on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025):

You can set this within user/group permissions.

As soon as I get access to knowledge or prompts, I can share them within my group.
Even if sharing is turned off completely.
The use case would be to completely disable sharing of those.
So only admins can maintain a curated repository.

Also if I am part of three groups and one of them gives me access to prompts or knowledge, I can also share them within these three groups.

@kns-12 commented on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025): > You can set this within user/group permissions. As soon as I get access to knowledge or prompts, I can share them within my group. Even if sharing is turned off completely. The use case would be to completely disable sharing of those. So only admins can maintain a curated repository. Also if I am part of three groups and one of them gives me access to prompts or knowledge, I can also share them within these three groups.
Author
Owner

@rgaricano commented on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025):

What is the meaning of a group for you?

I think these types of situations are the personal responsibility of each group member. If someone shares unauthorized content in another group, they probably shouldn't have access to those resources.

@rgaricano commented on GitHub (Jul 24, 2025): What is the meaning of a group for you? I think these types of situations are the personal responsibility of each group member. If someone shares unauthorized content in another group, they probably shouldn't have access to those resources.
Sign in to join this conversation.
1 Participants
Notifications
Due Date
No due date set.
Dependencies

No dependencies set.

Reference: github-starred/open-webui#5850